Today, even the biggest tech giants like Facebook & Google are facing a tough time when it comes to delivering on user privacy. Even Apple has drawn strong flak on the concern. As in a recent development in August, it was found that Siri requests were being listened to by external contractors.
Unfortunately, this revelation about iPhone security comes at a time when Apple was trying hard to showcase itself as a tech company that cares about the user’s privacy. However, in a damage control exercise, Apple has confirmed that Siri recordings would be opt-in-only.
May September will bring some good news for Apple, as it is coming with some new iPhones and iOS 13 is also scheduled to come with a number of security improvements.
Here, we are with the top five security features or improvements coming to Apple’s iOS operating system.
iOS 13 won’t allow apps to run VoIP in the background
Well, this can be the biggest development and could be a major blow to Facebook and Whatsapp. The scheduled iOS 13 development won’t allow both the apps to run in the background when programs aren’t actively in use. Till now, all the apps such as these claim that they need to run in the background so that they can connect calls quickly. And in this background process, they collect information on what you are doing on your device.
iOS 13 will send alerts about apps that track your location
Many apps are involved in the location tracking which is another security and privacy infringement. But with iOS 13 will let you know which apps are doing this in the background. Apple will also pop-up you with a reminder about which apps are tracking you and how many times it has happened. Additionally, a map will tell you how many times you have been tracked, along with the option to allow or limit it.
iOS 13 lets you allow location just once
iOS 13 will roll out with a new feature on location tracking. It will only allow an app to access your location just once. It will stop apps to track you in the background without your knowledge or permission. So, if a user downloads a new app that requires your location, one can allow it just for one instance.
iOS 13 allows you to prevent or limit Bluetooth and WiFi tracking
With the features that stop apps from tracking you via GPS, Apple is also preventing the Bluetooth and Wi-fi tracking used by some apps makers in iOS 13. Apps that work for smartwatches, will need access to Bluetooth to connect to your phone. However, others don’t, and now they will need to ask for your consent.
Sign In With Apple makes you safer online
We must say that it is one of the biggest developments with iOS 13. It is ‘Sign in with Apple’ is a security enhancement, which has already garnered a lot of attention. Any app that requires you to sign in must include this Apple option during the process. This option also allows you to use a private email generated by Apple to protect your privacy. From a users perspective, this feature is worth to include to enhance security.
Remove Location Data from Photos
Whenever a photo is taken on the iPhone on any iPhone device, the location and time are saved as metadata with the photo. Whenever you share or upload these photos, others can get access to the location of the address where you click the photo. So to ensure users’ privacy, Apple has decided to remove data from the photo. It simply means that you can upload/share photos after removing location and time data from the metadata.
One thing is for sure that Apple is doing everything possible to counter the security issues raised by the users last month. And it is gearing up well to deliver a secure experience to its users and wants to re-establish its image as the most secure platform.